The Torah and the Gospel on Conques's tympanum

The Scriptures are represented four times on the tympanum.
In the clergy's procession, two monks carry the Tables of the Law and the Gospels.

loi
Clerics carrying the Scriptures.
(Rollover image to view details)


The presence of the Bible on the same  floor as the New Testament, as well as the Good News on the same floor of the Old one, is a correspondence which  recalls the unity and continuity of the holly Book.

Each of the two Testaments is thus represented twice : the Bible is represented by the Torah scrolls held by Moses and Aaron's hands and the Tables of the Law carried by a cleric and by later King Louis the Pious.
The Gospel, carried here in a sheet by the monk, is also presented by the holy Marys in the last arch of the biblical times.

Therefore, the fundamental role played by the Holy Scriptures,  texts essential to announce salvation, is emphasized four times. This is why it is important to identify the Evangelary and not confound it with a simple shrine as is all too often done.

Good News

Mary and Mary Magdalene, present the "Good News". Mary of Magdala, Apostle among the Apostles, is the first witness of Christ´s resurrection on Easter morning, and the harbinger of the "Good News". Veiled and crowned Holy women, they hold lighted lamps and are placed in key position, ensuring the transition at the end of the Old Testament's floor. (Read more about the cult of Mary Magdalene)

Moses and Aaron holding the Torah scrolls

Previous page

 

 

Previous page

La Thora et l'Evangile au tympan de Conques

Les Tables de la Loi La Bonne Nouvelle

Les Saintes Ecritures sont représentées quatre fois au tympan.
Dans le cortège du clergé, deux moines portent les Tables de la Loi et les Evangiles.


Les clercs portant les saintes Ecritures
Survolez l'image pour visualiser les détails


La présence de la Bible à l'étage du Nouveau Testament, comme celle de la Bonne Nouvelle à l'étage de l'Ancien, constitue une correspondance qui nous signifie l'unité et la continuité du Livre.


Chacun des deux Testaments est ainsi représenté deux fois : la Bible est figurée par les rouleaux de la Thora tenus en main par Moïse et Aaron et par les Tables de la Loi portées par un clerc et Louis le Pieux.
L'Evangile, porté ici sur un drap par le moine, est également présenté par les saintes Marie sous la dernière arche des temps bibliques.
Par quatre fois donc est souligné le rôle fondamental joué par les Saintes Ecritures, textes essentiels de l'annonce du Salut. C'est pourquoi il est important de bien identifier l'évangéliaire et de ne pas le confondre avec un simple reliquaire comme on le fait hélas trop souvent.

Marie et Marie de Magdala, présentent la "Bonne Nouvelle". Marie de Magdala, l'Apôtre des Apôtres, est le tout premier témoin de la résurrection du Christ au matin de Pâques, et l'annonciatrice de la "Bonne Nouvelle". Saintes Femmes voilées et couronnées, elles tiennent des lampes allumées et sont placées en position charnière, assurant la transition, à l'extrémité de l'étage de l'Ancien Testament. (en lire plus sur le culte de Marie de Magdala)

Moïse et Aaron tenant les rouleaux de la Thora

Page précédente

 

 

Chapitres : Intro. Page précédente